What She Left Behind

What She Left Behind

Download

SUMMARY:

Half a million copies sold! The breakout novel from the New York Times bestselling author of The Orphan Collector, What She Left Behind weaves together riveting stories of past and present, exploring the strength of women in two different times as they face adversity in two very different ways. Go inside the horrifying walls of a 1920s New York asylum as a wrongly imprisoned woman fights for what is most important to her—and meet the young woman confronting the pain and mystery of her own family’s mental illness two generations later. Ten years ago, Izzy Stone’s mother fatally shot her father while he slept. Devastated by her mother’s apparent insanity, Izzy, now seventeen, refuses to visit her in prison. But her new foster parents, employees at the local museum, have enlisted Izzy’s help in cataloging items at a long-shuttered state asylum. There, amid piles of abandoned belongings, Izzy discovers a stack of unopened letters, a decades-old journal, and a window into her own past. Young flapper and suffragette Clara Cartwright is caught between her overbearing parents and her desire to be a modern woman. Furious when she rejects an arranged marriage, instead finding love with an Italian Immigrant, Clara’s father sends her to a genteel home for nervous invalids. But when his fortune is lost in the stock market crash of 1929, he can no longer afford her care—and Clara is committed to the public asylum. Even as Izzy deals with the challenges of yet another new beginning, Clara’s story keeps drawing her into the past. If Clara was never really mentally ill, could something else explain her own mother’s violent act? Piecing together Clara’s fate compels Izzy to re-examine her own choices—with shocking and unexpected results. “Screams with authenticity, depth, and understanding.” —The New York Journal of Books “A real page turner…will appeal to all readers of fiction.” —The Historical Novels Review “Amazing…A great read!” —The San Francisco Book Review “Will both haunt and inspire you… a moving, and at times chilling story that totally endears you to her characters.” —SpaWeek “A great coming-of-age story.” —School Library Journal

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Ellen Marie Wiseman
Publisher : Kensington Books
Release : 2013-12-31
File : 336 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780758278463


What She Left Behind

What She Left Behind

Download

SUMMARY:

In this suspenseful thriller, Sara and her mother are going to secretly escape her abusive father—when her mother mysteriously disappears. Sara and her mom have a plan to finally escape Sara’s abusive father. But when her mom doesn’t show up as expected, Sara’s terrified. Her father says that she’s on a business trip, but Sara knows he’s lying. Her mom is missing—and her dad had something to do with it. With each day that passes, Sara’s more on edge. Her friends know that something’s wrong, but she won’t endanger anyone else with her secret. And with her dad growing increasingly violent, Sara must figure out what happened to her mom before it’s too late…for them both.

Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author by : Tracy Bilen
Publisher : Simon and Schuster
Release : 2012-05-01
File : 256 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781442439528


What She Left

What She Left

Download

SUMMARY:

Alice Salmon. Young, smart, ambitious. With her whole life ahead of her. Until the night she mysteriously drowns. Nobody knows how or why. But Alice left a few clues: her diary, texts, emails, and presence on social media. Only fragments of the life she led remain. And in them might lie the answer to what really happened to her - if only someone can piece it all together before it vanishes forever . . . 'A deliciously modern psychological thriller . . . very well-written and intelligently realised' Daily Telegraph 'Absorbing, intricate and extremely original' Claire Kendal, author of The Book of You 'Richmond keeps you guessing until the final pages in this compelling debut' Glamour

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : T. R. Richmond
Publisher : Penguin UK
Release : 2015-04-23
File : 400 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781405917575


The Plum Tree

The Plum Tree

Download

SUMMARY:

"A touching story of heroism and loss, a testament to the strength of the human spirit and the power of love to transcend the most unthinkable circumstances." —Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris From the internationally bestselling author of The Orphan Collector comes a haunting and lyrical tale of love and humanity in a time of unthinkable horror. The debut novel from a powerful voice in historical fiction, this resonant and courageous saga of a young German woman during World War II and the Holocaust is a must-read for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The Alice Network. “Bloom where you're planted," is the advice Christine Bölz receives from her beloved Oma. But seventeen-year-old domestic Christine knows there is a whole world waiting beyond her small German village. It's a world she's begun to glimpse through music, books—and through Isaac Bauerman, the cultured son of the wealthy Jewish family she works for. Yet the future she and Isaac dream of sharing faces greater challenges than their difference in stations. In the fall of 1938, Germany is changing rapidly under Hitler's regime. Anti-Jewish posters are everywhere, dissenting talk is silenced, and a new law forbids Christine from returning to her job—and from having any relationship with Isaac. In the months and years that follow, Christine will confront the Gestapo's wrath and the horrors of Dachau, desperate to be with the man she loves, to survive—and finally, to speak out. Set against the backdrop of the German homefront, this is an unforgettable novel of courage and resolve, of the inhumanity of war, and the heartbreak and hope left in its wake. "A haunting and beautiful debut novel." —Anna Jean Mayhew, author of The Dry Grass of August "Ellen Marie Wiseman boldly explores the complexities of the Holocaust. This novel is at times painful, but it is also a satisfying love story set against the backdrop of one of the most difficult times in human history." —T. Greenwood, author of Keeping Lucy

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Ellen Marie Wiseman
Publisher : Kensington Books
Release : 2013-01-01
File : 400 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780758278449


The Future She Left Behind

The Future She Left Behind

Download

SUMMARY:

One woman's journey home gets derailed by her soon-to-be ex-mother-in-law in a novel filled with humor, small-town charm, rekindled love, and the resilient ties of family. Cast aside by her cheating husband, Katelyn Chandler is ready to pack it all in and drive home to Little Springs, Texas. She wants a chance to regroup, reconnect with her mother, and get back to her art. But Shirley Pratt—master manipulator, elitist snob, and Katelyn's terror of a live-in monster-in-law—has other ideas. Shirley insists on joining Katelyn's trip after her son tries to pack her off to a retirement community. Katelyn has no choice but to play peacekeeper between the ornery old woman and the proud matrons of Little Springs. Yet the small town seems to be changing Shirley. And as Katelyn weighs the wisdom of picking up where she left off with Jackson Mendoza, the town bad boy and her high school sweetheart, she must find a way to believe in the strength of her dreams.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Marin Thomas
Publisher : Penguin
Release : 2017-09-05
File : 336 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780698198692


Secrets She Left Behind

Secrets She Left Behind

Download

SUMMARY:

Abandoned by his mother, teenaged Keith struggles with physical and emotional scars from an arson fire and harbors hatred for his half-sister, Maggie, who has been released from prison for her role in setting the fire.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Diane Chamberlain
Publisher : MIRA
Release : 2013-05-28
File : 496 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780778315506


What You Left Behind

What You Left Behind

Download

SUMMARY:

Jessica Verdi, the author of My Life After Now and The Summer I Wasn't Me, returns with a heartbreaking and poignant novel of grief and guilt that reads like Nicholas Sparks for teens. It's all Ryden's fault. If he hadn't gotten Meg pregnant, she would have never stopped her chemo treatments and would still be alive. Instead he's failing fatherhood one dirty diaper at a time. And it's not like he's had time to grieve while struggling to care for their infant daughter, start his senior year, and earn the soccer scholarship he needs to go to college. The one person who makes Ryden feel like his old self is Joni. She's fun and energetic-and doesn't know he has a baby. But the more time they spend together, the harder it becomes to keep his two worlds separate. Finding one of Meg's journals only stirs up old emotions. Ryden's convinced Meg left other notebooks for him to find, some message to help his new life make sense. But how is he going to have a future if he can't let go of the past? "Ryden's story is a moving illustration of how sometimes you have to let go of the life you planned to embrace the life you've been given. A strong, character-driven story that teen readers will love."-Carrie Arcos, National Book Award Finalist for Out of Reach

Details :

Genre : Young Adult Fiction
Author by : Jessica Verdi
Publisher : Sourcebooks, Inc.
Release : 2015-08-04
File : 368 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781492608752


The Road She Left Behind

The Road She Left Behind

Download

SUMMARY:

Three women. Two families torn apart by secrets. Crushed by guilt over the car accident that killed her father and sister, and torn apart by her mother's resentment, Darcy Goodridge fled her family estate eight years ago and hasn't looked back. Now an unexpected phone call threatens to upend what little serenity she's found. Her nephew, Emerson, who was just a baby when his mother died, has gone missing. Darcy must return home and face her past in order to save him. Once back in Ohio, Darcy realizes there's more to Emerson's disappearance--and to the sudden retirement of her mother, Rosalind--than meets the eye. As she works to make inroads with Rosalind, Darcy begins to unravel a decades-old secret that devastated her family and forced a wedge between her and Michael Varano, the man she left heartbroken when she vanished after the funeral. After carrying the scars of that fateful night for almost a decade, Darcy is determined to find closure, healing, and maybe even love where she lost them all in the first place--right back home where she belongs.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Christine Nolfi
Publisher : Lake Union Publishing
Release : 2019-06
File : 316 Pages
ISBN-13 : 1542004217


What She Left For Me

What She Left For Me

Download

SUMMARY:

When Jana returns from a missions trip, she discovers that her pastor husband has left with his secretary...along with their bank account. Humiliated, penniless, pregnant, and very much alone, Jana reluctantly turns to her mother, Eleanor, in desperation. Eleanor is haunted by her own guilt and pain, and the arrival of her daughter only serves as a daily reminder of the memories she has long kept hidden away. Will a delightfully eccentric aunt become a catalyst between these two women? Will they allow God's spirit--and God's people--to bring true healing...and a future filled with love?

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Tracie Peterson
Publisher : Baker Books
Release : 2005-10-01
File : 352 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781441203366


What She Left

What She Left

Download

SUMMARY:

What She Left is the page-turning first book in the Martina Monroe Private Investigator Series. If you like high-stakes games, and jaw-dropping twists, then you'll love H.K. Christie's thrilling search for answers.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : H. K. Christie
Publisher : Martina Monroe
Release : 2021-07-16
File : 290 Pages
ISBN-13 : 1953268021