The Whistler

The Whistler

Download

SUMMARY:

Lacy Stoltz is an investigator for the Florida Board on Judicial Conduct. She is a lawyer, not a cop, and it is her job to respond to complaints dealing with judicial misconduct. After nine years with the Board, she knows that most problems are caused by incompetence, not corruption. But a corruption case eventually crosses her desk. A previously disbarred lawyer is back in business with a new identity. He now goes by the name Greg Myers, and he claims to know of a Florida judge who has stolen more money than all other crooked judges combined. And not just crooked judges in Florida. All judges, from all states, and throughout U.S. history. What the source of the ill-gotten gains? It seems the judge was secretly involved with the construction of a large casino on Native American land. The Coast Mafia financed the casino and is now helping itself to a sizable skim of each month's cash. The judge is getting a cut and looking the other way. It's a sweet deal: Everyone is making money. But now Greg wants to put a stop to it. His only client is a person who knows the truth and wants to blow the whistle and collect millions under Florida law. Greg files a complaint with the Board on Judicial Conduct, and the case is assigned to Lacy Stoltz, who immediately suspects that this one could be dangerous. Dangerous is one thing. Deadly is something else.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : John Grisham
Publisher : Bantam
Release : 2017-07-11
File : 432 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781101967676


Only In Whistler

Only In Whistler

Download

SUMMARY:

For several weeks in February, the eyes of the world will be on Whistler, BC, as it hosts the 2010 Olympic Winter Games and the appetite for a story to go with the place will be extreme. Stephen Vogler has that story, and in this book he tells it fully for the first time. Vogler is one of those rare Whistlerites who actually grew up in Whistler and he has for some years been running a one-man crusade as writer, broadcaster and author of books to prove his hometown is not only a bona fide community, but a uniquely interesting one. Whistler begins in the days when the town had a mere 500 year-round residents who referred to weekend visitors as "turkeys" or "gorbies." His parents were old-school European alpinists who had given up a comfortable life in Vancouver so they could teach their children how to yodel and schuss in an appropriate setting. People like them, with names like Ples and Wilhelmsen, had developed the ski hill in the 1960s and together formed one of Whistler's founding cultures. The other founding culture was a swarming, partying mass of snow-hippies who lived rent-free in rough squatters' shacks and liked marijuana as much as they didn"t like wearing clothes. Their "high" spirits melded with the soberer tradition of the transplanted Tyroleans to produce a hybrid "only in Whistler" character that is equally devoted to serious skiing and unserious living. It was no accident that the first Whistlerite to win an Olympic gold medal also tested positive for cannabis, and successfully defended himself by arguing that just breathing the air in his hometown was enough to put him over the limit. If anybody doubts that story, they won't after reading Only in Whistler: Tales of a Mountain Town.

Details :

Genre : History
Author by : Stephen Vogler
Publisher : Harbour Publishing Company
Release : 2009
File : 240 Pages
ISBN-13 : 1550175041


The Night Whistler

The Night Whistler

Download

SUMMARY:

A cracking rural crime debut that will have you on the edge of your seat until the final page

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Greg Woodland
Publisher : Text Publishing
Release : 2020-08-04
File : 400 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781925923537


The Whistler Book

The Whistler Book

Download

SUMMARY:

Reproduction of the original: The Whistler Book by Sadakichi Hartmann

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Sadakichi Hartmann
Publisher : BoD – Books on Demand
Release : 2020-08-03
File : 160 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9783752399233


Witness To A Trial

Witness To A Trial

Download

SUMMARY:

A startling and original courtroom drama from New York Times #1 Best Seller John Grisham that is the prequel to his newest legal thriller, The Whistler. An Original E-Short. A judge’s first murder trial. A defense attorney in over his head. A prosecutor out for blood and glory. The accused, who is possibly innocent. And the killer, who may have just committed the perfect crime.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : John Grisham
Publisher : Doubleday
Release : 2016-09-27
File : 23 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780385542579


Ski And Snowboard Guide To Whistler Blackcomb

Ski And Snowboard Guide To Whistler Blackcomb

Download

SUMMARY:

This is a guidebook for advanced and expert skiers and snowboarders to maximize their experience at Whistler Blackcombski and snowboard resort. The book presents detailed information about the many ski areas on the mountains, including 120 runs not published on the resort's trail map. It includes 85 colour aerial photographs, providing unobstructed views of the countless opportunities available for advanced and expert skiers and snowboarders to test their skills. Whistler Blackcomb is a premier ski and snowboard resort located in Canada's Coast Mountain Range. The resort is a two hours drive from Vancouver, British Columbia, and was one of the event sites of the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver.

Details :

Genre : Blackcomb Mountain (B.C.)
Author by : Brian Finestone
Publisher : Gordon Soules Book Publishers
Release : 2012-01-15
File : 184 Pages
ISBN-13 : 0987779605


The Unkindness Of Ravens

The Unkindness Of Ravens

Download

SUMMARY:

Librarian Greer Hogan matches wits with a deviously clever killer in M.E. Hilliard's chilling series debut, ideal for fans of Louise Penny and Dorothy L. Sayers. Greer Hogan is a librarian and an avid reader of murder mysteries. She also has a habit of stumbling upon murdered bodies. The first was her husband's, and the tragic loss led Greer to leave New York behind for a new start in the Village of Raven Hill. But her new home becomes less idyllic when she discovers her best friend sprawled dead on the floor of the library. Was her friend's demise related to two other deaths that the police deemed accidental? Do the residents of this insular village hold dark secrets about another murder, decades ago? Does a serial killer haunt Raven Hill? As the body count rises, Greer's anxious musings take a darker turn when she uncovers unexpected and distressing information about her own husband's death...and the man who went to prison for his murder . She is racked with guilt at the possibility that her testimony may have helped to convict an innocent man. Though Greer admires the masters of deduction she reads about in books, she never expected to have to solve a mystery herself. Fortunately, she possesses a quick wit and a librarian's natural resourcefulness. But will that be enough to protect her from a brilliant, diabolical murderer? And even if Greer manages to catch the Raven Hill killer, will living with her conscience prove a fate worse than death?

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : M. E. Hilliard
Publisher : Crooked Lane Books
Release : 2021-04-13
File : 336 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781643856957


The Whistler

The Whistler

Download

SUMMARY:

The Polish-Soviet war ends. A young officer builds a life for himself - a business, a home, a family - only for his country to plunge into darkness once more . . .This is the true story of Andrzej Gwizdak, a patriot who fought for his country twice before the age of 25. In 1921, he married the sister of a friend and settled in the Eastern borderlands of Poland to start a farm, believing he was about to begin his "Nowa Wola", a new life. For eighteen years, life was good. Then the Soviets invaded Poland from the East. Soldiers appeared at Andrzej's house and arrested him as an enemy of Russia. And his family, at gun point, embark upon a journey that ultimately takes them thousands of miles from home, through the freezing cold of Siberia to the dry heat of Iran, suffering starvation and disease, until they finally learn the truth about their father's fate.

Details :

Genre :
Author by : Marilyn Greenwood
Publisher :
Release : 2018-01-18
File : 221 Pages
ISBN-13 : 1976914884


111 Places In Whistler That You Must Not Miss

111 Places In Whistler That You Must Not Miss

Download

SUMMARY:

* The ultimate insider's guide to Whistler* Features interesting and unusual places not found in traditional travel guides* Part of the international 111 Places/111 Shops series with over 650 titles and 3.8 million copies in print worldwide* Appeals to both the local market (more than 11,800 people call Whistler home) and the tourist market (more than 3 million people visit Whistler every year!)* Fully illustrated with 111 full-page color photographsWhistler is so much more than one of the best places on Earth to ski. Tucked in the southwestern corner of British Columbia, less than two hours from Vancouver, the resort municipality is really as much a state of mind as a destination. Its modern culture, firmly rooted in the great outdoors, offers a unique healthy and active lifestyle that people around the world can only dream about. Yet many of the over two-million people that visit Whistler annually from every corner of the world are in such a hurry to get up into the mountains they miss so many of the secret sites, hidden gems and offbeat attractions scattered throughout the Sea to Sky corridor - home of Canada's most scenic road. When you know where to look, you'll be amazed by Whistler's rich diversity and quirky surprises, from the funky dives where local "Liftees" dine, to high-end, glamorous shops in the village, aboriginal landmarks, ghost towns, and left-over traces of the Winter Olympics. And although mining and logging have been replaced by tourism, vestiges of the early pioneer days still pop up in the most unusual places.

Details :

Genre : Travel
Author by : David Doroghy
Publisher : Emons Publishers
Release : 2021-05-24
File : 205 Pages
ISBN-13 : 3740810467


Whistler

Whistler

Download

SUMMARY:

A biography of James McNeill Whistler (1834-1903) that dispels the popular notion of Whistler as merely a combative, eccentric and unrelenting publicity seeker, a man as renowned for his public feuds with Oscar Wilde and John Ruskin as for the iconic portrait of his mother.

Details :

Genre : Biography & Autobiography
Author by : Daniel E. Sutherland
Publisher : Yale University Press
Release : 2014-03-04
File : 440 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780300203462