12 Seconds Of Silence

12 Seconds Of Silence

Download

SUMMARY:

The riveting story of the American scientists, tinkerers, and nerds who solved one of the biggest puzzles of World War II—and developed one of the most powerful weapons of the war 12 Seconds of Silence is the remarkable, lost story of how a ragtag group of American scientists overcame one of the toughest problems of World War II: shooting things out of the sky. Working in a secretive organization known as Section T, a team of physicists, engineers, and everyday Joes and Janes took on a devilish challenge. To help the Allies knock airplanes out of the air, they created one of the world’s first “smart weapons.” Against overwhelming odds and in a race against time, mustering every scrap of resource, ingenuity, and insight, the scientists of Section T would eventually save countless lives, rescue the city of London from the onslaught of a Nazi superweapon, and help bring about the Axis defeat. A holy grail sought after by Allied and Axis powers alike, their unlikely innovation ranks with the atomic bomb as one of the most revolutionary technologies of the Second World War. Until now, their tale was largely untold. For fans of Erik Larson and Ben Macintyre, set amidst the fog of espionage, dueling spies, and the dawn of an age when science would determine the fate of the world, 12 Seconds of Silence is a tribute to the extraordinary wartime mobilization of American science and the ultimate can-do story.

Details :

Genre : History
Author by : Jamie Holmes
Publisher : HarperCollins
Release : 2020-08-04
File : 432 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781328459855


Silence

Silence

Download

SUMMARY:

A Japanese Catholic, Endo tells the story of two 17th-century missionaries attempting to shore up the oppressed Japanese Christian movement. Father Rodrigues has come to Japan to find the truth behind unthinkable rumors that his famous teacher Ferreira has renounced his faith. But after his arrival he discovers that the only way to help the brutally persecuted Christians may be to apostatize himself. Translated from the Japanese by William Johnston, this special edition is issued in celebration of the release of Martin Scorsese's film adaptation of the novel.

Details :

Genre :
Author by : Shusaku Endo
Publisher :
Release : 2016-01-05
File : 314 Pages
ISBN-13 : 0720614481


Sunday Silence

Sunday Silence

Download

SUMMARY:

It started with Monday. But it doesn't end with Sunday. Read Sunday Silence, the new novel in the series that LOUISE PENNY calls "fabulous, unsettling, and riveting" — and brace yourself for the breathtaking series finale in summer 2018. Lover of London, gifted psychologist, frequent police consultant — Frieda Klein is many things. And now she's a person of interest in a murder case. A body has been discovered in the most unlikely and horrifying of places: beneath the floorboards of Frieda's house. The corpse is only months old, but the chief suspect appears to have died more than seven years ago. Except as Frieda knows all too well, he's alive and well and living in secret. And it seems he's inspired a copycat... As the days pass and the body count rises, Frieda finds herself caught in a fatal tug-of-war between two killers: one who won't let her go, and another who can't let her live. Crackling with suspense, packed with emotion, Sunday Silence is a psychological thriller perfect for fans of Elizabeth George and Paula Hawkins.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Nicci French
Publisher : HarperCollins
Release : 2018-01-09
File : 416 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780062676696


Speak Silence

Speak Silence

Download

SUMMARY:

WINNER OF THE 2021 TORONTO BOOK AWARD NOMINATED FOR THE 2022 EVERGREEN AWARD From the internationally bestselling and Giller-shortlisted author of The Disappeared, an astounding, poetic novel about war and loss, suffering and courage, and the strength of women through it all. It’s been eleven years since Gota has seen Kosmos, yet she still finds herself fantasizing about their intimate year together in Paris. Now it’s 1999 and, working as a journalist, she hears about a film festival in Sarajevo, where she knows Kosmos will be with his theatre company. She takes the assignment to investigate the fallout of the Bosnian war—and to reconnect with the love of her life. But when they are reunited, she finds a man, and a country, altered beyond recognition. Kosmos introduces Gota to Edina, the woman he has always loved. While Gota treads the precarious terrain of her evolving connection to Kosmos, she and Edina forge an unexpected bond. A lawyer and a force to be reckoned with, Edina exposes the sexual violence that she and thousands of others survived in the war. Before long, Gota finds her life entwined with the community of women and travels with them to The Hague to confront their abusers. The events she covers—and the stories she hears—will change her life forever. Written in Kim Echlin’s masterfully luminescent prose, Speak, Silence weaves together the experiences of a resilient sisterhood and tells the story of the real-life trial that would come to shape history. In a heart-wrenching tale of suffering and loss and a beautiful illustration of power and love, Echlin explores what it means to speak out against the very people who would do anything to silence you.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Kim Echlin
Publisher : Penguin
Release : 2021-03-02
File : 272 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780735240629


Conspiracy Of Silence

Conspiracy Of Silence

Download

SUMMARY:

Using interviews and case studies, a social worker explores the dynamics of and social response to incestuous assault, stressing its widespread and egalitarian nature

Details :

Genre : Self-Help
Author by : Sandra Butler
Publisher : Volcano Press
Release : 1996
File : 215 Pages
ISBN-13 : 1884244122


Speech And Silence In American Law

Speech And Silence In American Law

Download

SUMMARY:

Rather than abstract philosophical discussion or yet another analysis of legal doctrine, Speech and Silence in American Law seeks to situate speech and silence, locating them in particular circumstances and contexts and asking how context matters in facilitating speech or demanding silence. To understand speech and silence we have to inquire into their social life and examine the occasions and practices that call them forth and that give them meaning. Among the questions addressed in this book are: who is authorized to speak? And what are the conditions that should be attached to the speaking subject? Are there occasions that call for speech and others that demand silence? What is the relationship between the speech act and the speaker? Taking these questions into account helps readers understand what compels speakers and what problems accompany speech without a known speaker, allowing us to assess how silence speaks and how speech renders the silent more knowable.

Details :

Genre : Law
Author by : Austin Sarat
Publisher : Cambridge University Press
Release : 2010-03-31
File : Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781139487733


Organizing Silence

Organizing Silence

Download

SUMMARY:

A thought-provoking look at how silence is embedded in our language, society, and institutions. Sexual harassment is explored as an example.

Details :

Genre : Philosophy
Author by : Robin Patric Clair
Publisher : SUNY Press
Release :
File : 259 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780791499177


The Sound Of Silence

The Sound Of Silence

Download

SUMMARY:

"Do you have a favorite sound?" little Yoshio asks. The musician answers, "The most beautiful sound is the sound of ma, of silence." But Yoshio lives in Tokyo, Japan: a giant, noisy, busy city. He hears shoes squishing through puddles, trains whooshing, cars beeping, and families laughing. Tokyo is like a symphony hall! Where is silence? Join Yoshio on his journey through the hustle and bustle of the city to find the most beautiful sound of all.

Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author by : Katrina Goldsaito
Publisher : Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Release : 2016-08-02
File : 40 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780316271295


Silence And Concealment In Political Discourse

Silence And Concealment In Political Discourse

Download

SUMMARY:

This book constitutes a significant contribution to political discourse analysis and to the study of silence, both from the point of view of discourse analysis as well as pragmatics, and it is also relevant for those interested in politics and media studies. It promotes the empirical study of silence by analysing metadiscourse about politicians’ silence and by systematically conceptualising the communicativeness of silence in the interplay between intention (to be silent), expectation (of speech) and relevance (of the unsaid). Three cases of sustained metadiscourse about silent politicians from Germany are analysed to exemplify this approach, based on media texts and protocols of parliamentary inquiries. Ideals of political transparency and communicative openness are identified as a basis for (disappointed) expectations of speech which trigger and determine metadiscourse about politicians’ silences. Finally, the book deals critically with the role of those who act as advocates of ‘the public’s’ demand to speak out.

Details :

Genre : Language Arts & Disciplines
Author by : Melani Schröter
Publisher : John Benjamins Publishing
Release : 2013-05-08
File : 202 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9789027272102


Knowledge Language And Silence

Knowledge Language And Silence

Download

SUMMARY:

Izydora Dąmbska (1904-1982) was a Polish philosopher; a student of Kazimierz Twardowski, and his last assistant. The present volume includes twenty eight translations of her representative papers.

Details :

Genre : Philosophy
Author by : Anna Brożek
Publisher : BRILL
Release : 2016-01-14
File : 404 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9789004312678