Flight Of The Sparrow

Flight Of The Sparrow

Download

SUMMARY:

From the author of Emily's House comes a “compelling, emotionally gripping”* novel of historical fiction—perfect for readers of America’s First Daughter. Massachusetts Bay Colony, 1676. Even before Mary Rowlandson was captured by Indians on a winter day of violence and terror, she sometimes found herself in conflict with her rigid Puritan community. Now, her home destroyed, her children lost to her, she has been sold into the service of a powerful woman tribal leader, made a pawn in the ongoing bloody struggle between English settlers and native people. Battling cold, hunger, and exhaustion, Mary witnesses harrowing brutality but also unexpected kindness. To her confused surprise, she is drawn to her captors’ open and straightforward way of life, a feeling further complicated by her attraction to a generous, protective English-speaking native known as James Printer. All her life, Mary has been taught to fear God, submit to her husband, and abhor Indians. Now, having lived on the other side of the forest, she begins to question the edicts that have guided her, torn between the life she knew and the wisdom the natives have shown her. Based on the compelling true narrative of Mary Rowlandson, Flight of the Sparrow is an evocative tale that transports the reader to a little-known time in early America and explores the real meanings of freedom, faith, and acceptance. READERS GUIDE INCLUDED

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Amy Belding Brown
Publisher : Penguin
Release : 2014-07-01
File : 368 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780698137530


Flight Of The Sparrow

Flight Of The Sparrow

Download

SUMMARY:

Massachusetts Bay Colony, 1676. On a winter day of terror, Puritan Mary Rowlandson is captured by Indians. Her home destroyed and her children lost to her, she becomes a pawn in the bloody struggle between English settlers and the indigenous people. Battling cold, hunger, and exhaustion, she witnesses harrowing brutality but also unexpected kindness. To her surprise, she is drawn to her captors' straightforward way of life.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Amy Belding Brown
Publisher :
Release : 2014-11-01
File : 557 Pages
ISBN-13 : 1410473112


Flight Of The Sparrow

Flight Of The Sparrow

Download

SUMMARY:

Presents a fictionalized account of the life of Mary Rowlandson, a Puritan woman living in the Massachusetts Bay Colony who was captured by Native American in 1675 and who developed empathy for her captors before she was released eight months later.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Amy Belding Brown
Publisher : Penguin
Release : 2014
File : 331 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780451466693


The Sparrow

The Sparrow

Download

SUMMARY:

A visionary work that combines speculative fiction with deep philosophical inquiry, The Sparrow tells the story of a charismatic Jesuit priest and linguist, Emilio Sandoz, who leads a scientific mission entrusted with a profound task: to make first contact with intelligent extraterrestrial life. The mission begins in faith, hope, and beauty, but a series of small misunderstandings brings it to a catastrophic end. Praise for The Sparrow “A startling, engrossing, and moral work of fiction.”—The New York Times Book Review “Important novels leave deep cracks in our beliefs, our prejudices, and our blinders. The Sparrow is one of them.”—Entertainment Weekly “Powerful . . . The Sparrow tackles a difficult subject with grace and intelligence.”—San Francisco Chronicle “Provocative, challenging . . . recalls both Arthur C. Clarke and H. G. Wells, with a dash of Ray Bradbury for good measure.”—The Dallas Morning News “[Mary Doria] Russell shows herself to be a skillful storyteller who subtly and expertly builds suspense.”—USA Today

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Mary Doria Russell
Publisher : Ballantine Books
Release : 2008-05-27
File : 448 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780345510884


A Sparrow S Flight

A Sparrow S Flight

Download

SUMMARY:

In A Sparrow's Flight, her second novel, first published in 1989, Margaret Elphinstone is already occupying her characteristic location on the borderlands which were to become familiar territory in her subsequent writing. The novel is set in the 'debatable lands' between Scotland and England but explores more elusive borders between waking and dreaming, sanity and madness, myth and reality, and the unsettling landscape between our imagined pasts and hoped for futures. Thomas and Naomi are on a journey through a world that has experienced catastrophic change. Early reviewers, writing amid the Cold War, placed the story in the aftermath of nuclear holocaust. The author offers no such certainty. The plaintive but unexplained references to 'before the world changed' resonate with a menace all the more unnerving in its ambiguity. Through this regenerating landscape - the previously blighted 'empty lands' - Thomas and Naomi find their journey turns full circle, returning them to their starting point as changed people, with new understandings of friendship and belonging. As with every quest there is a grail and their grail is music. Its rediscovery is a metaphor for that Golden Age we all need to believe existed 'before the world changed'. .,.".....powerfully convincing in its blend of medievalism and post-modern disillusion..." Douglas Gifford

Details :

Genre : English fiction
Author by : Margaret Elphinstone
Publisher :
Release : 1989
File : 257 Pages
ISBN-13 : STANFORD:36105034365069


Emily S House

Emily S House

Download

SUMMARY:

She was Emily Dickinson’s maid, her confidante, her betrayer… and the savior of her legacy. An evocative new novel about Emily Dickinson's longtime maid, Irish immigrant Margaret Maher, whose bond with the poet ensured Dickinson's work would live on, from the USA Today bestselling author of Flight of the Sparrow, Amy Belding Brown. Massachusetts, 1869. Margaret Maher has never been one to settle down. At twenty-seven, she's never met a man who has tempted her enough to relinquish her independence to a matrimonial fate, and she hasn't stayed in one place for long since her family fled the potato famine a decade ago. When Maggie accepts a temporary position at the illustrious Dickinson family home in Amherst, it's only to save money for her upcoming trip West to join her brothers in California. Maggie never imagines she will form a life-altering friendship with the eccentric, brilliant Miss Emily or that she'll stay at the Homestead for the next thirty years. In this richly drawn novel, Amy Belding Brown explores what it is to be an outsider looking in, and she sheds light on one of Dickinson's closest confidantes—perhaps the person who knew the mysterious poet best—whose quiet act changed history and continues to influence literature to this very day.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Amy Belding Brown
Publisher : Penguin
Release : 2021-08-03
File : 384 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9780593199640


Sparrows

Sparrows

Download

SUMMARY:

Youngsters are invited to follow one family of sparrows as they reveal a vast array of interesting tidbits about their life cycles, habitats, survival tactics, and more.

Details :

Genre : Juvenile Nonfiction
Author by : Hans Post
Publisher : Boyds Mills Press
Release : 2008
File : 32 Pages
ISBN-13 : 1590785703


Sparrow S Flight

Sparrow S Flight

Download

SUMMARY:

It's been five months since an immunization for the flu collapsed civilization.Sparrow Gray had nothing to her name but the backpack she carried and the meager contents inside. Utterly alone, she fought to survive daily. Everyone was a suspected foe, and the ones unlucky enough to be infected were nothing more than walking corpses.Mason, an ex-Navy SEAL, and Asher, a back-alley fighter, found each other at an unlikely time. The two never thought they'd find pleasure each other's arms. Then came Sparrow, and both realized they wanted her as badly as they wanted each other.And they meant to make that their reality.The world was a dangerous, ugly place, and their trip was filled with fear, pain, and everything in between. But when Sparrow was taken by men who wanted to use her for the only commodity left in this barren world, Mason and Asher would do everything in their power to get her back safely.But could Mason and Asher get to her before all hell broke loose?Reader note: This story was previously published under the same title. It has since been reedited, minimally revised, and new content has been added.

Details :

Genre :
Author by : Jenika Snow
Publisher :
Release : 2020-06-04
File : 214 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9798650165569


Sparrow S Flight

Sparrow S Flight

Download

SUMMARY:

Julie Hoffman is sixteen, clumsy, and a dreamer. Not such a great combo when your mom has moved you to a new school on Long Island. Feeling alone and ugly, Julie dreams about her estranged dad coming back and calling her Sparrow again. All she has left to remember him by is his collection of adventure and fantasy novels—which propels her into developing a fantasy of her own. In her new school Julie meets the members of the Clan of the Western Holt—a group of bright, imaginative kids like herself who don’t quite fit in. They devour comic books, sew costumes for Renaissance Faires, stage mock hunts, and huddle together for warmth and friendship against a world that ridicules them. The Clan brings out a talent for writing that has lain dormant in Julie. With Dana Burke, a young artist, Julie begins to write her own fantasy—‘Sparrow’s Flight’—and in it she puts all of her crises and dreams. She is able to give voice to her fears and desires through he make-believe characters—chronicling a painful experience with love, betrayal, and death. In her fantasy, Julie goes on an imaginary quest for her father and a mission to destroy the evil sorceress—her mom. But when she has the real-life chance to accomplish both, Julie finds that she has changed and makes her first adult decision.

Details :

Genre : Juvenile Fiction
Author by : Richard Posner
Publisher : Rowman & Littlefield
Release : 2014-03-03
File : 224 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781590773178


Mr Emerson S Wife

Mr Emerson S Wife

Download

SUMMARY:

In this novel about Ralph Waldo Emerson's wife, Lidian, Amy Belding Brown examines the emotional landscape of love and marriage. Living in the shadow of one of the most famous men of her time, Lidian becomes deeply disappointed by marriage, but consigned to public silence by social conventions and concern for her family's reputation. Drawn to the erotic energy and intellect of close family friend Henry David Thoreau, she struggles to negotiate the confusing territory between love and friendship while maintaining her moral authority and inner strength. In the course of the book, she deals with overwhelming social demands, faces devastating personal loss, and discovers the deepest meaning of love. Lidian eventually encounters the truth of her own character and learns that even our faults can lead us to independence.

Details :

Genre : Fiction
Author by : Amy Belding Brown
Publisher : St. Martin's Press
Release : 2006-05-30
File : 336 Pages
ISBN-13 : 9781466809284